2014 Spirit Award Nominations

By | Nov 26, 2013 | Leave a Comment (0)
Independent Spirit Award Nominations 2014 The 29th Annual Film Independent Spirit Award nominations were announced and Steve McQueen‘s 12 Years a Slave led with 7 nominations including best feature, best director and acting nominations for Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong’o and Michael Fassbender. Check out the full list of nominees: BEST FEATURE 12 Years a Slave All Is Lost Frances Ha Inside Llewyn Davis Nebraska BEST DIRECTOR Shane Carruth – Upstream Color J.C. Chandor – All Is Lost Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave Jeff Nichols – Mud Alexander Payne – Nebraska BEST SCREENPLAY Woody Allen – Blue Jasmine Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater – Before Midnight Nicole Holofcener – Enough Said Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber – The Spectacular Now John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave BEST FIRST FEATURE Blue Caprice Concussion Fruitvale Station Una Noche Wadjda BEST FIRST SCREENPLAY Lake Bell – In A World Joseph Gordon-Levitt – Don Jon Bob Nelson – Nebraska Jill Soloway – Afternoon Delight Michael Starrbury -The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD – Given to the best feature made for under $500,000 Computer Chess WRITER/DIRECTOR: Andrew Bujalski Crystal Fairy WRITER/DIRECTOR: Sebastiàn Silva Museum Hours WRITER/DIRECTOR: Jem Cohen Pit Stop WRITER/DIRECTOR: Yen Tan WRITER: David Lowery This is Martin Bonner WRITER/DIRECTOR: Chad Hartigan BEST FEMALE LEAD Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine Julie Delpy – Before Midnight Gaby Hoffmann – Crystal Fairy Brie Larson – Short Term 12 Shailene Woodley – The Spectacular Now BEST MALE LEAD Bruce Dern – Nebraska Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave Oscar Isaac – Inside Llewyn Davis Michael B. Jordan – Fruitvale Station Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club Robert Redford – All Is Lost BEST SUPPORTING FEMALE Melonie Diaz Fruitvale Station Sally Hawkins Blue Jasmine Lupita Nyong’o 12 Years a Slave Yolonda Ross Go For Sisters June Squibb Nebraska BEST SUPPORTING MALE Michael Fassbender 12 Years a Slave Will Forte Nebraska James Gandolfini Enough Said Jared Leto Dallas Buyers Club Keith Stanfield Short Term 12 BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY Sean Bobbitt 12 Years a Slave Benoit Debie Spring Breakers Bruno Delbonnel Inside Llewyn Davis Frank G. DeMarco All Is Lost Matthias Grunsky Computer Chess BEST EDITING Shane Carruth & David Lowery Upstream Color Jem Cohen & Marc Vives Museum Hours Jennifer Lame Frances Ha Cindy Lee Una Noche Nat Sanders Short Term 12 BEST DOCUMENTARY 20 Feet From Stardom After Tiller Gideon’s Army The Act of Killing The Square BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM A Touch of Sin (China) DIRECTOR: Jia Zhang-Ke Blue is the Warmest Color (France) DIRECTOR: Abdellatif Kechiche Gloria (Chile) DIRECTOR: Sebastián Lelia The Great Beauty (Italy) DIRECTOR: Paolo Sorrentino The Hunt (Denmark) DIRECTOR: Thomas Vinterberg ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD – (Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast) Mud Director: Jeff Nichols Casting Director: Francine Maisler Ensemble Cast:  Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant, Reese Witherspoon 17th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD – The 17th annual Producers Award, sponsored by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films.  The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget. Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston Jacob Jaffke Andrea Roa Frederick Thornton 20th ANNUAL SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD – The 20th annual Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. My Sister’s Quinceañera DIRECTOR: Aaron Douglas Johnston Newlyweeds DIRECTOR: Shaka King The Foxy Merkins DIRECTOR: Madeline Olnek 19th ANNUAL STELLA ARTOIS TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD – The 19th annual Truer Than Fiction Award, sponsored by Stella Artois, is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant. Kalyanee Mam A River Changes Course Jason Osder Let the Fire Burn Stephanie Spray & Pacho Velez Manakamana

No related posts.

MovieProNews Gravatar
Want to change your avatar?
Go to Gravatar.com and upload your own (we'll wait)!

Add New Comment